ecotec history??? - General Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
ecotec history???
Sunday, May 07, 2006 6:46 AM
I have been doing some searching on the net for the history of the ecotec engine. im trying to find its routes and mabye a build journal. really anything. I know so much about the engine just nothing about where it came from.

"boobs now with Riboflabin"
Im a level 32 joedm newb flamer.

Re: ecotec history???
Sunday, May 07, 2006 6:09 PM
Well, the Ecotec motor was supposed to be released as the replacement for the 2.4L Twin Cam back in 2000 or 2001.... but that didn't happen in time, so GM just did some minor revisions to the 2.4L instead and prolonged it's death a few more years.

Just like the J-body was supposed to be replaced way back in 2000... but as you can see, that didn't happen. Do some Google searches for "Quad 4" and "Quad 4 history" and you'll find out it was planned a lot earlier than it actually was released.

It's called a "global motor" as GM is using it in many divisions around the world... kinda like the old 1.8L, 2.0L back in the 80's... and the first gen J-body as well, which was the first "global chassis" used all over the place. If you could get your hands on the parts from an Isuzu Aska, I bet you they'd fit a 1st gen Cavalier, Sunbird, Cimarron, SkyHawk or Firenza

...j

Sunday, May 07, 2006 7:18 PM
Saturn brought the ecotec engines the US/Canada first I believe, I think it was in the L series, but I'm not sure..

Red 2005 Saturn Ion-3 Coupe
Burgundy 2006 Saturn Ion - My winter beater
Sunday, May 07, 2006 7:41 PM
I believe wikipedia has some good info on it... nothing like what Lenko was saying tho.

Sunday, May 07, 2006 8:29 PM
what im looking for is more on the technical side. I really want to learn more about what they were going for, and what makes it so amazing.

Sunday, May 07, 2006 9:31 PM
I have no idea about that^^