Cavalier Diesel? (and a American auto market rant) - General Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Cavalier Diesel? (and a American auto market rant)
Saturday, February 12, 2011 1:51 PM
After some winter hibernation, I've decided to crawl out from under the rock I've been hiding under and show my face on JBO once again. I'm going to be posting a pic thread for some suggestions for my '04 cavis 7th year of life. Anyway, on to my actual question.

Has anybody ever heard of anyone doing a diesel motor/trans swap in a cavalier? I did a search of this site with no results, so hence this post. I understand something like that wouldn't be easy (I'm an amateur, far from my skillset), would need new electronics and fabrication to make it work. Maybe something like a VW TDI motor/trans? I know I'm probably gonna get grilled for my overall lack of knowledge on the subject, but I want to prove to my engineering professor that it would be possible to do on a J. Or better yet...

Dear American Auto market,

Can you guys please stop cramming lithium battery hybrids and full electric cars down our throats? The facts are, most Americans expect a certain degree of performance out of their cars. That being said, why haven't you taken a page from your European partners and developed a small, clean diesel motor for the American market? The fuel is readily available and can be made from any lipid. Diesel motors push more torque and whp in most cases, and will last longer under routine maintenance than its gasoline cousin. While you guys keep giving us glorified golf carts and hybrid batteries that consume more energy and resources in refining than they produce, we are all stuck cursing the continual rise of gasoline prices. The answer is right there, if you guys choose to put more R&D into it. Think about it.

Yours Truly,
Cavaclysmic04