Wierd noise - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Wierd noise
Friday, August 16, 2013 8:02 PM
Hi guys, I am a noob here. I recently got a 2000 Cavalier with a 2.2l engine. The car has 152,000 kms on it. All is good with it except for one thing. When I turn to go right, there is an awful squeaking sound. It sounded like the serp belt so I changed that. No luck. Then I experimented with it. Going down a straight road , when I turned to the right just a bit or more the noise showed up. Going left no noise.
However when I turned the engine off and coasted the noise is not present. So obviously it is not brakes or suspension . It can't be an axle shaft cause it would be spinning anyways. I'm lost and confused. Any advice??

Re: Wierd noise
Friday, August 16, 2013 9:32 PM
Cv axle, bearing?

On the inside my car looks like a fighter jet.
Sunday, August 18, 2013 4:45 PM
Could also be a bad wheel bearing they get loud and quiet around corners.... also i have found some to be very loose and never make a noise unless turning.....

if this is the case i recommend timkin wheel bearings

if it were an axle it would be more like a click click click noise when rounding corners....

Erik Packard
Sunday, August 18, 2013 6:40 PM
Thanks guys. But like I said , with the engine turned off and me coasting down a street the noise is not present. Axles and bearings would be turning at normal road speeds with engine on or off.
Monday, August 19, 2013 7:42 AM
Ok if the engine is off and the noise is not present I would start checking pulleys..... I had a noise from my alternator before but it was more of like a whining noise..... also my idler pulley is currently bad and makes a sound sounds almost like a sc 3800 kinda like a whistle.... start there...... if its not a pulley you may have an internal engine issue....such as timing chain tensionor or the chain itself

Erik Packard
Friday, September 06, 2013 6:58 PM