Stalling until hot - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Stalling until hot
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 4:37 PM
Okay, so my 2001 sunfire have been stalling lately, (only does it in winter). It starts up and dies if I don't give gas which makes it run real rough until it reaches the 90 degrees. After it is hot it runs fine and do not stalls until I let it sit and tries to start it back up. I've seen on this forum the temp sensor can be the culprit when it is the contrary of my issue. I've had problems with wiring before, and had to change the wires going to the temp sensor and some other wires that had just gone corroded under the bumper. Could it be something related again to the wiring?

Re: Stalling until hot
Thursday, December 12, 2013 1:19 PM
I'm no expert but it sounds like it could be your temperature sensor. I had the exact opposite problem (stalled only when hot) which I fixed with a new temperature sensor (not thermostat) but the principle is the same. The car's computer should feed a richer fuel mixture to the engine when it's cold (like a choke in the old days of carburetors). If the computer isn't doing that then then the temperature sensor seems like the likely culprit. If the wires were broken then the computer would get no information about the temperature. I guess it's possible that would lead the computer to a default action of treating the engine as if it were hot, but I'm doubtful of that. Can you put an OBDII reader on it and see what the computer thinks the temperature is?
Thursday, December 12, 2013 7:32 PM