Turn Signal Issues... - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Turn Signal Issues...
Sunday, September 14, 2014 11:51 AM
Hello J-Body Forum! I've been meaning to join for a while, but haven't had a chance. Now that I'm having an issue I can't figure out, I don't have much of a choice.

I drive a 1997 z24 Cavalier. A few days ago, my left turn signal dash light was blinking very rapidly. I checked my lights, and the marker and bumper light was flashing very fast, and the rear light was flashing at a normal rate. Yesterday, my rear left brake light stopped blinking. So I replaced the bulb this morning. Same problem. So I removed the front left turn signal(the one inside the bumper, not next to the headlamp). Well with that light removed, when I push the turn signal switch down(left) it makes a horrible whining/screeching noise.
I'm new to fixing cars, I'm still learning. And i can't figure this problem out. Please help.

Re: Turn Signal Issues...
Sunday, September 14, 2014 1:04 PM
There is a ground that goes from under the battery tray to the bellhousing. This being disconnected caused this problem for me. It may be corroded or broken

It's a grounding issue for sure.

Just where is the question.

That's where I would look first.

"A car just isn't a car without a little blood, sweat, and beers." -- Shadowfire
Sunday, September 14, 2014 1:49 PM
Matt Linke wrote:There is a ground that goes from under the battery tray to the bellhousing. This being disconnected caused this problem for me. It may be corroded or broken

It's a grounding issue for sure.

Just where is the question.

That's where I would look first.

Ground wire...Personally that doesn't make sense to me. But it's worth a look! Is this an easy to find wire?

What's causing the screeching from the cluster then, when I pull out ONLY the turn signal bulb?
Sunday, September 14, 2014 3:57 PM