Oil lamp at idle '90 Sunbird - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Oil lamp at idle '90 Sunbird
Thursday, June 23, 2011 9:13 PM
Hi! I am a newbie & thought I would jump right in with a question. I didn't notice any similar questions in "Newbie" or "Maintenance".

Just bought a '90 Sunbird LE, 2.0 (Engine Code K), auto trans
After replacing the bulb, the oil lamp comes on at idle & goes off when raising the RPM a bit.
I can't get a socket on the oil sender to remove it. The shallow 1 1/16 socket is too shallow; the deep one is too long.The connector is full of oil. It could be from a bad sender, or external oil leaks, or both.
My goal was to replace the sender & tee in a mechanical gauge. I cleaned the connector with electrical cleaner & reconnected it.

I replaced the 5W30 oil with 15W40 Delo, the universal oil for my "Fleet" of 80s & 90s vehicles.
So far, the oil lamp stays off at idle. That may change with some miles on the oil.

Questions:
- If the lamp goes off when the RPM is increased about 200 RPM, is there anything to worry about if the oil level is OK & there are no valvetrain noises?

- Is there an alternate (better access) place to install a sender for the oil lamp and/or a mechanical gauge?

- If I remove the motor mount to gain access, will there be enough room to tee in a mechanical gauge at the sender (right above the oil filter)?

Thanks!

Re: Oil lamp at idle '90 Sunbird
Friday, June 24, 2011 8:21 PM
how many miles you have on it ? if it was me I would check compression and replace the sender. how does the motor sound at idle?
Friday, June 24, 2011 9:34 PM