Transmission problem - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Transmission problem
Monday, April 20, 2015 11:24 PM
I'd like to start by saying, I'm not a total noob, just to transmissions and non F-bodies. xD
Anyway, bought a 97 Sunfire GT, 2.4 DOHC, M/T today. Cheap buy, guy wanted to get rid of it quick because the car has probs with 2nd gear, and I wanted to fix a trans for the sake of experience and resell FWIW or keep it around if it grows on me (initially figured the 2nd gear issue would be a gear or syncro or something to that nature).
On the way home 1 and 3 started grinding like 2nd if too much power was applied to the clutch plate. 4th and 5th were fine, just wanted to get back to the house and dismantle stuff, so I drove like grandma with the 1st 3 gears. A little further down the road, without warning (no sounds, extreme movement changes or anything of the nature), I lost all power to the wheels, and the trans was smoking. Had a distinct smell that I had never experienced. Couldnt place it.