rear metal brake line rusted out and busted - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
rear metal brake line rusted out and busted
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 8:49 AM
i have a 2002 cav, was driving down the road today and the brakes went squishy. i pulled over and checked around, found that the rear metal line that runs from what looks like one side to the other of the rear up near the gas tank was pissing brake fluid and rusted to hell and back. i limped it home and im trying to figure out what the hell its called or what to replace it with. i picked this up as a daily and winter beater to keep miles off my trans am, so i need it back on the road pretty quick since the t/a is shut down for the year. i know my way around fbodies pretty well but im new to jbodies. all i can tell so far is that GM really went cheap on parts quality since ive been fighting rust since the day i picked this up lol.

if needed i can grab a pic or 2 of what im talking about

Re: rear metal brake line rusted out and busted
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 9:13 AM
i looked at a diagram for it, it looks like its the pipe that runs to the passenger side axle. im guessing a parts store will have what i need. now the question is can i get away with replacing just that piece of the pipe or will the entire line need to be replaced. the underbody looks like its been in russia sitting on a pile of salt for 12 years
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 4:48 PM
Roger Vanbibber wrote:i looked at a diagram for it, it looks like its the pipe that runs to the passenger side axle. im guessing a parts store will have what i need. now the question is can i get away with replacing just that piece of the pipe or will the entire line need to be replaced. the underbody looks like its been in russia sitting on a pile of salt for 12 years