Cavalier 2,2 1996, a few questions - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Cavalier 2,2 1996, a few questions
Friday, February 25, 2005 3:42 AM
Hello gang,, Im new to this forum, although I have been reading it for a while.

I live in Iceland, (yup) and I have a Cavalier 1996, 2,2 auto 2 door,

I bought it 2 years ago, there was some valve lifters ticking in it when I bought it, (im a motorcycle mechanic so I know engines a little but I thought nothing of it, tried various cleaners but with no results.

Last night driving home from work, it started ticking louder and lost power, I was able to get it to 60~70mph (stopping and leaving the car was not an option) so I got home, tore the cylinder head off, (I was pretty sure one lifter had gone totally bad) and to my surprise the pistons and cyl walls were like new, but I am unable to see if the lifters are blown.. but im buying new anyway,,

so my questions are,, is the timing chain/tensioner weak in these cars? I have seen a few users on this forum talking about changing the tensioner every 30k miles, (mine has a 100k miles on it) and the second question, does anyone here have the tightening torque values for the cylinder head bolts?

best regards
gulag

Re: Cavalier 2,2 1996, a few questions
Friday, February 25, 2005 6:23 AM
yeah on the 2.2's they are a little more "weak" i got a 2.4 and i changed the cams, chain, tensioner, and the works a little after i got it (prolly 134,000 miles) couldn't tell ya the torque for the head on a 2.2 sorry

Friday, February 25, 2005 12:44 PM
Cylinder Head Bolts
Step 1
Short Bolts - 43 ft-lbs
Long Bolts - 46 ft-lbs
Step 2
Tighten an additional 90 degrees

Jay

One huge aluminum wing - $200
More vinyl graphics than your ride can handle - $150
Decals for products you don’t even have - $10
500lbs of Car Audio equipment in the trunk - $1500
----------------------------------------------------------------------------