00 Cavalier Overheating - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
00 Cavalier Overheating
Monday, July 15, 2013 12:53 PM
Currently my gf is in Minnesota for an internship for school, (i'm in Ohio) and her car has been overheating lately. Her car is a 00 Cavalier with the 2.2L. The thermostat had been replaced and the coolant and oil were both at the right levels. I told her to take it to a local shop, and have them figure it out. She calls me today and they think that its a bad head gasket and were going to charge her over $1700 for the parts and labor. I will be out there in August to bring her back to Ohio, but i was wondering how difficult replacing the head gasket would be. I have never done anything like this before. I was just wondering. Is it a simple remove bolts and slap it back together? or is it much more complicated? Also looking for other advice on what it could be?

Nate
00 Cavalier 2200

Re: 00 Cavalier Overheating
Monday, July 15, 2013 1:32 PM
On a scale from 1 to 10 with 10 being the most difficult it's probably an 8 or 9. I'm sure someone will disagree with that but it's because they've done the job before or done head jobs on overhead cam engines that can be way more involved.

You will need lots of garage tools to do it right and not snap bolts off. A torque wrench, an impact air gun would help, probably a torch to get the header bolts out.. In short, have a garage do it if you haven't tackled anything like this before. It's a messy, labor intensive job. 1700 is high but it will require a lot of labor so anyone will gouge you. Also be aware that they could pull the head and find out that it's cracked (common with these motors when they get hot [incidentally the head gasket also blows when it gets hot]). So, be prepared to possibly have to buy a new head.

"In Oldskool we trust"
Tuesday, July 16, 2013 8:06 AM
When does it overheat? When driving? When at a dead stop?