99 Cav Electrical Issues - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
99 Cav Electrical Issues
Monday, October 07, 2013 8:33 PM
Okay, so I've been driving my 99 cav for about 5 months now, and since I got it, it has had a couple of very annoying nuisance electrical problems.

1. Fuel gauge reads about right, maybe slightly low, until it gets down to around 1/4 of a tank, at which point it changes direction and gradually climbs back up, eventually ending up past the full mark on the gauge.

2. The torque converter lockup clutch locks and unlocks rapidly and repeatedly, but only at certain speed/engine load points. The thing I find most puzzling is that I tried changing the torque converter lockup points in hptuners, and this simply changed the points at witch the lock/unlock shudder occurs. I have NOT had any problems with the tcc lockup, besides this. Most of the time it works perfectly, and does not stick at all.

3. Erratic Idle/engine surge on the highway, these cars all do this to some extent, but this one seems particularly bad.

4. Engine Coolant temp gauge fluctuates, as well as the coolant temp readings in hptuners. This is sporadic, most of the time the coolant temps read fine, but sometimes they become erratic, with no probable explanation.

This car has relatively low miles (91,000; had 80,000 when I got it)

The car is, however, and R-Title car, from an obvious right-front collision. I am wondering if some damage could have possibly been done to the pcm/wiring harness. Although if that was the case, I don't think I would be able to read and flash the pcm with hptuners.

Perhaps these problems are all unrelated, but I never experienced any of these problems on my 2000 Sunfire, leading me to believe that these problems are specific to this car. Couple that with the R-title, and you can understand my concern.

Any thoughts/ suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Re: 99 Cav Electrical Issues