CV joint failure - how long have I got? - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
CV joint failure - how long have I got?
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 9:48 AM

So about 8 years ago in 2010 my driver's side CV boot ripped wide open and hurled out all of the grease everywhere. Not long after that, the passenger side went. So I have been driving around for the last 8+ years with both of them wide open and no grease (I assume) in either of them with no problems and it hasn't made any difference. That's good since I can't afford to have anything that isn't a matter of immediate emergency fixed. There are about 100 things that need to be fixed so only the ones that prevent the car from starting, running or moving (in that order) get fixed.

Anyway, a week or so ago, I noticed a popping, clicking sound when making a right turn and it has slowly become worse but isn't constant. My assumption is that the CV joint is the source of the noise. I am in a much (and I can't emphasize how much) worse financial situation than I was back in 2010. So while this has my attention and has me worried, I can't afford to have it fixed. So my question is: is there anything other than needing one or both of the CV half-axle shafts replaced that can be done or that would be the source of the problem noise? And more importantly, how long can I go with this given my description. Keep in mind, when the boots first ripped open, everyone told me I had to get them fixed right away and they weren't talking about just the boots being repaired. I know how that worked out now that it is 8+ years later. But my concern is what will real failure mean if I keep driving - especially while I am driving down the road at full speed.

It is full-on winter here now with snow and ice and sub-freezing temps and I have no place to work on the car. And I have no health insurance so I sure can't get hurt screwing around with it either.