96 to 95 engine swap - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
96 to 95 engine swap
Sunday, October 30, 2011 5:57 PM
Newbie here. I have a 1995 automatic 2.2 and am replacing the engine with an engine from a 1996. I noticed that the knock sensors are different and have found the adapter for it but was wondering if anything else needs to be modified or bypassed for the engine to run properly. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Re: 96 to 95 engine swap
Sunday, October 30, 2011 6:23 PM
Corey Martin wrote:Newbie here. I have a 1995 automatic 2.2 and am replacing the engine with an engine from a 1996. I noticed that the knock sensors are different and have found the adapter for it but was wondering if anything else needs to be modified or bypassed for the engine to run properly. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I think other than the knock sensor, they will swap fine. I've done a 96 truck motor into my 95 cav/5 speed. The biggest change was going to OBD 2, but if you re use all the sensors it should be fine.
dennis
Sunday, October 30, 2011 7:26 PM
Thank you for your reply. Engine is in but was just hoping the electrical part of it wouldn't have been an issue.
Monday, October 31, 2011 3:19 PM
yeah those are transition years
Monday, October 31, 2011 6:42 PM
Pretty sure that there are more differences here...

Monday, November 07, 2011 10:21 PM
Nope... That & a cam-sensor, for the Sequential Multi-Point Fuel-injection were about it!

Go beyond the "bolt-on".
Friday, November 11, 2011 7:55 AM
I thought the 96 had different plug-in to the ECU? On the 95 it was two big plugs, and on the 96, i thought it was 3 smaller plugs. Then on 97 + it was 4 small plugs. Not 100%. Which ECU are you running the motor with, one from a 96 with the engine harness of a 96?

Monday, January 02, 2012 4:32 PM