is my intake safe under the fender? - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
is my intake safe under the fender?
Thursday, July 12, 2012 11:18 AM
i have a AEM intake system and the filter is right under the fender and i dont have the inner fender guards. theres no splash gaurd to it so how could i prevent hydro-locking? plus it seems my tires hit it when i make a sharp right turn. thanks

Re: is my intake safe under the fender?
Thursday, July 12, 2012 2:07 PM
i've been driving with no splash guards on either side for three years now, no issues. if its rubbing on your tires you need to move it.

JBO Stickers! Get yours today!
Thursday, July 12, 2012 3:48 PM
AEM makes a breather to help dispel water for CAI systems to prevent Hydra-lock...

Friday, July 13, 2012 3:41 AM
I know a guy with an 03 Cobra that had this happen. It was raining real hard, it didn't hydrolock the engine, but the filter did get wet enough that it stopped flowing air through it and stalled out the engine. But yeah, the breather thing is probably the best idea. That or getting the fender liner from a yard and putting back in it.

i find it amusing that SHOoff has nothing better to do but follow me around & be an unhelpful dick in even cross-forum. - Jon Mick
Friday, July 13, 2012 10:55 AM
well as long as you arent driving through a flash flooded street you should be ok. buuuut....

why dont you have the splash shields in? this irritates the hell out of me when people dont use them. there really is no excuse.. you can find them for cheap on ebay if you dont wanna pay GM price. they dont weigh much and they help keep the bumper from flopping around. not to mention do what they are actually intended to do which is keep the water out of places it shouldnt be. ...surely you dont want water being sprayed all up into your headlight wiring, do you?