Anybody in WI got a turbo, need input quick on purchase - North Central Region Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Anybody in WI got a turbo, need input quick on purchase
Wednesday, April 01, 2009 9:51 AM
I have a guy who contacted me on craiglist as I have my wheels for sale on there who wants to trade for a turbo kit he bought for his Neon. Never installed and its a T4, I've been doing as much reading in the boost section as I can this morning and from my understanding the only thing I will need to get is a different manifold to start. I'm very new to how turbos work whats involved with making them work right. Basically I was asking 350 for my wheels, he says he paid 1100 for the turbo kit. The business sense in me tells me to do the trade and I'm ahead in the deal, its the car guy wondering if I should try to make it work on my 2.4 Cav? Do the trade or no, u guys tell me...LOL

Re: Anybody in WI got a turbo, need input quick on purchase
Wednesday, April 01, 2009 9:53 AM
Just got another email said the kit is missing an intercooler and downpipe. But made it clear it is new and never installed, he lost them when he moved.

Wednesday, April 01, 2009 10:02 AM
i got a feeling it's a @!#$ty ebay turbo kit with a chinese knock-off turbo that will fry in 1,000 miles. i would take the trade unless he can prove it's genuine, and you can determine that it's new.

87 Firebird
All stock...........lol.
Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:11 AM
He says its a garrett T4

Wednesday, April 01, 2009 4:27 PM
that is extremely broad. if that's all he's telling you, he probably has no idea what he's talking about.

87 Firebird
All stock...........lol.
Wednesday, April 01, 2009 7:48 PM
If its a straight T4, without you having a very well built engine able to rev high, you will hate that turbo..