Newbie to a J body Oldie - First Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Newbie to a J body Oldie
Tuesday, March 24, 2009 9:12 PM
Yup. That's right. I'm new to the old j's. I've had a 99 fire GT and a 99 cavi sedan, but we just picked up an 84 sunbird vert. Sweet little car. We bought it for $500, and it obviously needs some attention, but I would love to really restore this thing back to it's young age. There's a ton of new parts on her. New top, really limited rust (Cept the floor pan). Lots of engine work has been done.

Anyway, I'm having a really hard time finding parts for this little bugger. And I've got some issues I need help with.

The car vibrates like it's got a broken engine mount or transmission mount. The engine vibrations are pretty bad. Are any of these common to break? For example, is the upper motor mount prone to breaking? Anybody know here I can find a new one? If not I'll grab one from a junk yard. Or could it be the harmonic balancer? It makes the exhaust bounce like a mo fo.

Next up on the list is the gauge lights on the cluster and the HVAC are... temperamental as well as the heater controls themselves. Should I just go grab a HVAC panel and a new cluster? The heat randomly shut off for some reason, but then started working again after a few minutes. Wiring issue I'm sure, but the HVAC lights don't turn on.

Next up is the window regulator. The passenger window doesn't go up all the way, and It feels like it's hitting something because towards the front, about an inch and a half down it stops, like someone shoved a screw in it. But there's nothing blocking it that I can see. Probably will have to take the panel off and start digging, but was just curious is the regulators break much.

That's all for now.

Thanks guys/gals.

Oh right, um, 84 Sunbird vert 1.8L non-turbo, auto if that makes a difference.

Re: Newbie to a J body Oldie
Tuesday, March 24, 2009 10:57 PM