J body questions from a newbie - First Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
J body questions from a newbie
Saturday, July 01, 2006 1:00 AM
Hey yall... Ive owned a couple J bodies for a few years now, never thought about performance out of them untill now. We have a 90 Sunbird that shes driven for about 4 years. Im currently stripping it down to have it sent to its grave.. its just got too many problems to list. I have been driving an 84 Skyhawk for the last 2 years. This is the project car. I bought it from her uncle with a blown 1.8 motor for 125 bucks. I found someone on ebay selling crate 2.0 motors for 300 bucks plus shipping, so I bought 2 of them. Once they arrived I found out they were for like 91 up (no dist and tpi). The first one dropped into her car no problem, just changed out the intakes and used her distributor, been a great running motor ever since. My car however, was a different story. Since the intakes bolt up different, and I didnt have the wiring harness for the newer motor, I changed heads. Kids, dont try this at home, the compression ratio was astronomical, I had to pull the head back off to have the combustion chambers hogged so it would run on pump gas (I still have run premium or I get ping). But the upside is she runs like a scalded dog... ok.. a scalded puppy. Now Ive gotten my hands on a turbo and exhaust manifold for the motor but I have no idea where the coolant and oil lines connect. Ive checked my Chilton's and Haynes manuals with no luck. Im planning on hooking all this up on the motor out of her car with her wiring harness. I also am going to have to figure out a way to get the air into the manifold, since its a tbi.

Any help yall could offer would be greatly appreciated. I know a pretty fair amount about these cars in the stock form, but when it comes to modifying or swapping Im a novice. Im sure SOMEBODY out there has done this before and can help.