Newbie here with my '86 Z24 Convertible - First Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Newbie here with my '86 Z24 Convertible
Saturday, June 27, 2009 7:45 PM
Hey, guys!

I have always been a fan of the first gen J's especially the Z's. I had this car back in '98 and this is what it looked like the day I got it home. Hope this pic turns out.......sorry for the scanned pic.......pre-digital camera days.

I also had an '87 hatchback Z in '92. Again, sorry for the scanned pics......
BEFORE:

AFTER:

To me the first gen Cavalier's have a personality all their own. I guess I'm stuck in the 80's because I like and have two Pontiac Fiero's as well........'85 SE V6, '87 GT.

Some of these cars here I have seen on other sites. All that I have seen so far are awesome looking, so sorry that I have to bring my sad little Z to the mix. Hopefully soon it will be fully restored and mildly custom. This is currently the stage the vert is in. No money to fix the major damage, so we are just cleaning it up to have fun with. It needs a D/S door and fender. My daughter and I are cleaning and painting to spruce it up as much as we can.

This is how the vert looked at the junkyard. I bought it back for $250.00 and got an original title for it.

I'll update with current picks when I get it back on the ground.

Thanks,
Paul

Re: Newbie here with my '86 Z24 Convertible
Saturday, June 27, 2009 7:50 PM
It didn't take my previous pics of it at the J/Y, so here they are......

Saturday, June 27, 2009 7:56 PM
Nice, Get it finished!

Any plans for the motor?

Saturday, June 27, 2009 8:00 PM
Mike (96RedCav) wrote:Nice, Get it finished!

Any plans for the motor?

For now the 2.8 is still running strong, but I'm drooling over putting a 3.8SC w/4T65HD tranny. I have it sitting in the garage waiting to go into my '87 Fiero GT though. Of course if the cash was availible it would be full frame with an LS1.
Sunday, June 28, 2009 9:31 AM