Another ABS Issue - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Another ABS Issue
Tuesday, November 27, 2012 8:28 AM
This is a long story. It started when I blew my transmission and had to pay someone to fix it. About a week after I got it back, the ABS light came on. Now, I NEVER EVER have someone else work on my car, but this time I was out of town and had too. I'm already sure they messed it up by pinching a wire or breaking a sensor, etc. Anyway, I hooked it up to a scanner which claimed driver's side front malfunction. Figured I would replace the sensor and clear the codes to eliminate it as a possibility. The scanner I used was @!#$ and I'm not sure if it actually cleared the codes or not. That being said, the light is still on. If the sensor was bad and replaced with a good one, would the light eventually go out without clearing the codes? I have no experience with abs systems unfortunately.

If there is a short or a broken wire somewhere, whats the best way to diagnose? I know it probably isn't 12v going to the sensor, so would a test light illuminate at the plug even if there was power going to it? I don't feel like buying a multimeter but I guess I need too now. When I had it apart I checked the wires from the sensor plug up to where it goes above the fender, no problems there. Where do more knowledgeable minds suggest I start looking? All suggestions accepted.

Edit: 2005 LS Sport Cavalier

Edited 1 time(s). Last edited Tuesday, November 27, 2012 8:32 AM

"In Oldskool we trust"

Re: Another ABS Issue
Tuesday, November 27, 2012 9:46 AM
Usually they will clear themselves but im not positive. What code did you have by chance? Usually testing is doing a resistance test on the sensor. Then setting the multimeter to AC voltage and spin the wheel to make sure it is producing a voltage. most common problems for cavaliers are bad wheel speed sensors or breaks in the wire harness.