Lowering Springs help!!!! - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Lowering Springs help!!!!
Wednesday, June 04, 2014 6:47 PM
Hey guys, Im new to the .org but have owned 2 j bodys so far and absolutely love my cavi. My sunfire was a POS and im glad i got rid of it.

Alright so before you all tell me to get coilovers, let me just say its not going to happen. I'm a broke college kid and dont have $1000 to spend on my car. I am planning on getting lowering springs though from Megan racing for my 2003 Cavi LS Sport.

Ive talked to 2 of my friends about this subject, one of them drives a lowered Genesis Coupe and both are pretty knowledgeable on cars and their suspensions. Both of them said that i dont need to replace my struts are shocks since im only using the lowering springs for the looks. Basically im not gonna be racing or beating on my car so im not gonna be putting on any added stress on the car. I just want my car to sit lower because i hate how high she is.

My question to you guys is whether or not theyre right and i wouldnt need to replace my struts or shocks because im not lowering the car for performance purposes.

Got heem!

Re: Lowering Springs help!!!!
Wednesday, June 04, 2014 7:00 PM
They are 100% wrong. Lowering spring have different spring rates than stock springs and our stock struts cannot handle it. The factory struts will ride like crap and will fail. There is also the increased chance of crashing because the struts cannot properly dampen the springs.

Wednesday, June 04, 2014 7:04 PM
What about for the lowering springs that say they work and perform with stock struts and shocks? I know eibach pro kits say that on their website and same with the tein s tech.

Got heem!
Wednesday, June 04, 2014 7:11 PM