is it possible to make a coilover setup for a 1st and 2nd gen - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
is it possible to make a coilover setup for a 1st and 2nd gen
Thursday, October 16, 2014 6:10 AM
im looking for a good way to lower my first gen sunbird and i wanna find lowering spring but in the minst of looking for lowering spring i was told that i could build a coilover setup. if it is possible then how?? any suspension idea and better up grades would much apriciatied thanks and im building my 85 sunbird wanna know better upgrades thnks

I'm new to the scene ... I'm 18 and i have a 1985 Pontiac Sunbird sedan...

Re: is it possible to make a coilover setup for a 1st and 2nd gen
Thursday, October 16, 2014 7:14 AM
Brian Morgan wrote:im looking for a good way to lower my first gen sunbird and i wanna find lowering spring but in the minst of looking for lowering spring i was told that i could build a coilover setup. if it is possible then how?? any suspension idea and better up grades would much appreciated thanks and I'm building my 85 sunbird wanna know better upgrades thanks

I have been working with a company that could make this up for you. I do not think he has made a setup for a first or second gen before. I would assume it would be in the $1500-2000 range for one set. He would require a complete shock, strut, spring, and mount set for the front and the rear. Let me know if that is what your looking for and I can put you in contact with him.

PRND321 Till I DIE
Old Motor: 160whp & 152ft/lbs, 1/4 Mile 15.4 @88.2
M45 + LD9 + 4T40-E, GO GO GO
Thursday, October 16, 2014 9:59 AM
so it is possible to make a coilover system for a first and second but me im lost on how you would do the rear half of the car due to it sits on a spring and the struts mounted in the wheel well

Thursday, October 16, 2014 10:17 AM
Yes. A lot of cars with similar setups run / ran coil overs.

PRND321 Till I DIE