head swap - Third Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
head swap
Thursday, May 26, 2005 11:31 AM
Is it posible to put a 2.4 DOHC Head on a 2.2 SOHC engine block?

Re: head swap
Thursday, May 26, 2005 11:39 AM
No.

4cyltuner.com - Information Source For 4 Cylinder Tuners
Buy stuff from CarCustoms Ebay! Won't be disappointed!

Thursday, May 26, 2005 11:40 AM
Plus, you have a OHV engine, not a SOHC, so you'd end up with 3 cams and pushrods that don't push anything.

4cyltuner.com - Information Source For 4 Cylinder Tuners
Buy stuff from CarCustoms Ebay! Won't be disappointed!

Thursday, May 26, 2005 11:59 AM
Thanks man.....im just kind of new at this. my friend has a 1990 Honda Civic hatchback....he's got a honda ZC imported motor from japan with a t3-t4 hybrid turbo. it halls ass. im just looking for ways to beef my engine up so it can at least run with his for a while. Any suggestions??
Wednesday, June 01, 2005 1:50 PM
that all depends on how much u wanna spend
Friday, June 03, 2005 3:11 AM
Go in the performance section, you will find many options.
Sunday, June 05, 2005 6:51 PM
the pacesetter header is the best performance / dollar mod in my eyes, the OEM unit is a huge bottleneck. if you want to make a manifold, well sort of a hybrid TBI / MPFI manifold you can swap to a 91' TBI head, this was the year GM tried to get more power out of the pushrod before boring/stroking. stiffer valve springs, slightly bigger valves slightly smaller chamber, i forget the exact numbers but have them somewhere.

CAR GODS MADE THE 1.6 SOHC TO MAKE US 2.2 OHV GUYS FEEL BETTER.
Monday, June 06, 2005 2:38 PM
you won't run with your friend unless you spend upwards of 10k on your engine.

15.958 @ 88.201 stock, still getting @!#$ty launches...
Tuesday, June 07, 2005 11:47 AM