Looking for an exhaust - Third Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Looking for an exhaust
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 2:04 PM
You guys have been some help to me so far. Now im looking to replace my exhaust, cuz the stock flex pipe is beginning to tear and i just figure replace it with a high flow performance system

I have been looking around and I can find headers and cat-back systems etc. but, I have never done an exhaust system before. What do i need to buy, a header, and a cat back? or what specific parts should i be looking for?

I would like the get the pacesetter 4-2-1 header, but then what extra piping do I need? i dont have any tools or anything that I can fabricate with, so something that Will pretty much bolt on would be great.

Can anyone help me out?

Re: Looking for an exhaust
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 2:05 PM
Might help if I mention what kind of car... 2002 Sunfire SE w/ the 2.2 SFI (vin code 4) with the 4 speed electronic automatic
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 9:17 PM
I would look into the TurboTechRacing group purchase and get the catalytic converter and ceramic-coated Pacesetter header. Then I would suggest buying a nice quality muffler and resonator and having an exhaust shop fab up a system for you. I would also suggest you go 2.25" with the piping, muffler, resonator, and cat. The header you can install yourself if you have the patience and tools, or just have the exhaust shop install it while they're doing everything else.

Saturday, December 31, 2005 4:06 AM
Matt, you have different choices in headers.

You can venture with a Pacesetter Ceramic Coated Header or an Weapon-R header. Both a 4-1 style and you can find them for good prices as well. If you're interested in the Pacesetter header, do what baby gorilla said, contact turbo tech racing, if you want to check out the Weapon-R Header check out www.definedparts.com