2.2 Ecotec 03 Cavalier -- NEWB - Third Generation Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
2.2 Ecotec 03 Cavalier -- NEWB
Friday, February 14, 2014 8:19 AM
Hey! I'm new to the J-body world -- well, any car world in that matter. I just "inherited" a '03 cavalier, all stock, from my grandfather. I'm planning on going to college here in a few months, and I was just curious if there was anything I can do to up the MPG, and reliability. As of right now, the o2 sensor needs to replace. I also need to fix the front driver's side seat. The oil-pane also has a hole in it. Anyway, thanks!

Re: 2.2 Ecotec 03 Cavalier -- NEWB
Friday, February 14, 2014 9:48 AM
Welcome to the .org

As for the MPG, for anything thing that the cost will end up saving a equal amount of money, not really. If you plan to build on it later on a intake is a good first step.

Is it a 5 speed or a automatic? 2 or 4 door?
Don't be afraid to post up some pics of it.

Friday, February 14, 2014 10:41 AM
Replacing the o2 sensor will help a lot. Other than that, general maintenance. Air filter, plugs, fuel filter, etc.

"In Oldskool we trust"
Friday, February 14, 2014 12:32 PM
If it is a 5-speed, watch for hydraulic clutch line leaks. The line from the master cylinder to the trans rubs on a fender seam and can rupture. But not sure if that is only an 05 issue or 03-05.
Friday, February 14, 2014 1:09 PM
It's a 2-door 5 speed
Saturday, February 15, 2014 2:31 PM
Keep it as stock as possible and stock tire size with all seasons, maintained & up to date on fluids/plugs/air filters. I averaged 30mpg on mixed commutes all stock, now with 225/50-16s and a Vibrant 2.25" exhaust i'm down to 28 on the last few tanks, it is the middle of winter granted.

'03 LS Sport 5spd, Amsoil fluids, Vibrant cat-back, 5% 3M color stable tint, Z24 trunk lid

Saturday, March 15, 2014 10:28 PM