Why NOS - Nitrous Oxide Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Why NOS
Friday, October 21, 2005 12:48 AM
Hey everyone. I'm a newbie to JBO. I was going to get the GM charger for my LD9 but came up a little short on cash. I was thinking about a wet system but I've had a bad experience with nitrous before and I'm still very skeptical on it. I ran a cheap dry kit on my old car that included a line,a bottle, and a solenoid that plugged into the lighter and used a push button to activate. About a week later I noticed that every time I started my car and backed out of somewhere it suddenly got really foggy. I was going through over 3 CASES of oil a month. I didn't even bother with oil changes anymore. The car was in mint shape with 62K on it when I ran it. Back then of course I didn't know allot about nitrous or getting colder plugs or ignition upgrades. I did use 93 octane thou. I was wondering if you guys would have any compelling stories or info to change my skeptical view on Nitrous. I think what I'm really looking for is for someone to tell me that this wont happen again . I was planning on going with a ZEX wet 55 shot. My precautions would be a Jacobs Nitrous Mastermind, MSD ignition, colder plugs, and a air/fuel gauge. I was planning on retarding my timing by 2 degrees with the Mastermind. Any and all info is appreciated, thanks.

Re: Why NOS
Friday, October 21, 2005 4:58 AM
Quote:

I ran a cheap dry kit

thats part of the problem there. when modding a car, dont be cheap on parts.
i have a NX wet kit. iran mostly a 55 shot all year. ran 75 a few times. had higher octane gas and colder plugs. thats about it. some have been brave enough to run the 100 shot on just high octane gas and colder plugs.
if you have the right parts, have it installed it right, and dont spray every 5 seconds then you should be ok

Im a Xbox 360 fanboy...and damn proud of it!!
Friday, October 21, 2005 7:02 PM