New To Nitrous - Nitrous Oxide Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
New To Nitrous
Thursday, December 01, 2005 11:41 AM
Hey,
Not sure if this should be in the newbies, being that I am not a newbie to modifying cars, but I am new to nitrous. Just bought a zex dry system, as I understand it is the easiest and a relatively safe system to use (don't need to hear I should have gone wet...thanks). I only plan on running a small shot (35), basically cause I am a chicken and until I feel comfortable and have the internals on my 2200 strengthened I think it wise to stick to a small jet. Anyway, I have been told I could go all the way to a 75 shot on a 2200 on stock internals, not that I would ever do that but maybe a 50 at the most when I grow some balls. I also understand that it comes down to the car itself because every car is different. My car is a 2000 with a 2200 engine and only has 19000 miles and has been driven carefully from the day I bought it, it has never been abused. What additional equipment would I need to make sure I am relatively safe using a 35 shot? I don't think I need to go crazy and buy every safety piece of equipment made, but then again I am not the expert when it comes to nitrous. Appreciate any advice. Thanks

Re: New To Nitrous
Thursday, December 01, 2005 12:57 PM
All I'll say is with a dry kit you have to garuntee that your stock fuel system can keep up with the shot.

With a 35 I'm sure it can handle it but 50+ is pushing it. (on a dry kit)

You'll have to choose between a fuel pressure regulator or a Fuel pressure gauge (if you're lucky you can find the models that have 2 in 1) and you'll have to make sure your pressure stays optimal during a nitrous run.