Thinking about nitrous - need advice - Nitrous Oxide Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Thinking about nitrous - need advice
Thursday, December 15, 2005 11:12 AM
I'm CONSIDERING a nitrous kit. I've never used nitrous on a Cavalier before, but I have on my other rides, so I know how it works. I'm just curious about what some of you might think. This car is my daily driver, and I'm only going to go to the track on occasion so I don't want to go turbo. I have the 1'6 rockers, a cold air intake, and a full exhaust, but I'm adding a flywheel and MSD coils/wires. I'm also thinking about a fuel tuner like a SAFC. What do you guys recommend?

Re: Thinking about nitrous - need advice
Thursday, December 15, 2005 11:24 AM
it might help if you gave a little information about the car you are gonna be using it on. (what engine, how many miles on it, what condition its in, what type of kit you are getting)
nitrous works the same regardless of the car its on. there are minor installation variances, but the components will be the same. wet kit is most recommended and safest. colder spark plugs and premium gas are a must. 75 hp shot or less with stock internals and stock fuel system. safc not really needed

Thursday, December 15, 2005 11:45 AM
Yeah, I should mention that huh. It's a 97 Cavalier, LN2 5 spd coupe. The engine in the car now has close to 190K on the clock, but I did a compression check and the cylinders are in good shape. I also had the head off a while back to replace the gasket and a bad lifter, and everything looked fine, especially for the mileage. I'm wondering if the engine was rebuilt before I bought it, but regardless, I am absolutely anal about maintanance so I know it's taken care of. At the least, Ihave plans to eventually replace the engine with a reman from Napa or Autozone or some place like that. I'm just tight on cash right now.
Thursday, December 15, 2005 12:43 PM