Read the FAQs, still have some Qs - Nitrous Oxide Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Read the FAQs, still have some Qs
Tuesday, January 10, 2006 3:24 PM
So I'm new to the J-body. I'm mostly new to nitrous. I've never used it personally in my own car, but I have driven a few cars that had it, and I understand how it works and stuff. I'm looking for opinions on using nitrous on a mostly stock bottom end LN2. I'm going to be getting a new motor and I'm considering a full top end build with cam, valve train, port and polish, intake, all of that. I'm not sure what way to go here. I've never found anything about what sort of fuel upgrades there are, and I'm not sure if stock injectors and such will be enough. And I'm not sure what nitrous kit is best. Zex, NX, wet, dry, all of that. I know the difference between wet and dry, though.I only want about a 50 or 75 shot, so what do you guys think? My friends are all saying go boost stay away from nitrous, but I honestly think nitrous will be easier on my motor than a turbo since I'm only going to use it on occasion (read: drag strip).

Be kind to dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

Re: Read the FAQs, still have some Qs
Tuesday, January 10, 2006 5:07 PM
Oh, and I'm also concerned about compatability with Apexi SAFC or Greddy eManage.

Tuesday, January 10, 2006 8:41 PM
The biggest problem with LN2's and nitrous... the pistons. Detonation kills them, and quick.

If you can prevent the thing from leaning out (proper fuel pressure), and detonating (retard the timing with the MSD DIS-2), it will last longer.

A stock bottom end and a 75 shot? Good luck.

Wednesday, January 11, 2006 5:20 AM
If a stock bottom end LN2 won't handle a 75 shot, then someone should correct the sticky at the top of the forum:

How big a shot? What I need?

35-50shot
Tr6 plugs (any 1-step colder plug) Found Here
89+ oct

75shot
MSD DIS-II (retard -2) Found here
91+ oct

85-100shot