Troubleshooting lean conditions under boost - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Troubleshooting lean conditions under boost
Sunday, December 09, 2012 12:19 PM
Hi,
I'm looking for some ideas on how to troubleshoot a problem where my wideband guage is indicating lean conditions under boost. I appreciate any help and if you need any more information let me know and I'll try to get it. So here's the details:

I have an 04 Cav with the GMSC intercooled, rebuilt engine, 60# injectors and some other mods. I also have used HPT to develop a tune based off of a stock ECM. All of this I did years ago when it was my daily driver. It's been sitting most of the time for the last 3 years give or take, taking it out sometimes to drive.

At the time I quit driving it, it was running fine to the best of my knowledge. Recently, I have been thinking of getting it back on the road and re-doing the exhaust. Since the gas was old (but low), I first tried draining some but it looked not too bad, so I left the rest in and added some new 93 octane. I also changed the battery, oil, and aired up the tires, that was about it. So then I took it out for some test drives and it seemed to drive just fine most of the time. The AFR's from the wideband seemed to be where they should be...except when I get on it and quickly go into boost.

When I do that, the AFR's start out around 12.5 and get worse as I go, 12.7, 12.9, 13.1, 13.3, 13.5..try not to let it go past that obviously. I have also tried slowly getting into the pedal so it's not all at once and it does make a difference in the AFR's even under boost. It will start out around 11 then more slowly get leaner.

So of course this is something I want to fix so I don't blow things up, but trying to find the best ways to diagnose.