those with the B&M Shiftplus, when do you "shift"? - Transmission Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
those with the B&M Shiftplus, when do you "shift"?
Friday, March 11, 2005 8:37 AM
I got my shiftplus, and it's great. everyone with an auto should get one *G*

anyway, I'm kinda new to the game... and don't really know the best "timings" or whatever... or when to let off the gas and punch it again to let the tranny shift.

Somewhere between 5000 and 6000 for 1st to 2nd feels best to me I think, I just can't pin point it. and I don't have a clue when to do it between 2nd and 3rd, etc...

thanks for any pointers

Re: those with the B&M Shiftplus, when do you "shift"?
Friday, March 11, 2005 8:37 AM
forgot to mention I have an 04 cav ecotec
Friday, March 11, 2005 10:32 AM
are you manually shifting your automatic trans? IF so thats kinda a waste. Your computer does a better job than you ever will.

2006 Black Cobalt SS Supercharged G85
13.91@102.77
Friday, March 11, 2005 11:04 AM
wow that sounds degrading lol

nah, i don't manually shift my auto. It's just that when you're at WOT, the transmission won't shift until you let off the gas.

the way i've been doing it ... from a stop, punch the gas, get around 5500rpms, let off (tranny shifts) and punch it again.

I was just curious if anyone else has any other methods they want to share ... like if you rev to 3000 before launch or anything like that.
Re: those with the B&M Shiftplus, when do you "shi
Friday, March 11, 2005 1:03 PM
mine shifts under full throttle , and even my friends 04 that i put 1 on shifts at full throttle

which is about 6400 rpm

Friday, March 11, 2005 2:01 PM