04 Cavalier clutch repair help - Transmission Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
04 Cavalier clutch repair help
Thursday, August 09, 2012 8:27 AM
just wondering if anyone has any good step by steps for changing a clutch on an 04 Cavalier. Just found out that the slave cylinder is out in my car so I'm going to replace the clutch while I'm in there and I've never done it before. If anyone has any suggestions or references I would appreciate it before I dig to deep into this. Thanks!

Re: 04 Cavalier clutch repair help
Thursday, August 09, 2012 9:52 AM
Haynes shop manual at any library... Free to use, best step by step with torque specs too.

We carry the KY performance clutch kit, best clutch kit out there for the quality and performance. Cobalts wont use anything but this brand.

-Aaron
www.TurboTechRacing.com

Performance Parts For Cavalier, Sunfire, Cobalts and More!!!
Thursday, August 09, 2012 7:05 PM
you can get an Excedy replacement clutch off ebay with everything from the slave to pressure plate to clutch itself and alignment tool for $150... I did it on mine and it last a LONG time

Thursday, August 09, 2012 10:19 PM
Also search for the flyinsquirel subframe mod, helps quite a bit.

Saturday, August 11, 2012 4:47 PM
It's fairly simple...

Remove banana bar, notch subframe, drain fluid, remove wheels, then axles.

Remove starter, unclip the shift cables, VSS plug, reverse sensor plug.

Support trans, unbolt from mounts.

Unbolt from engine. Lower by rotating trans towards the radiator as you lower it to clear the subframe.

Boom. Trans down. Unbolt pressure plate and remove clutch.

I did this all alone back in the spring, had the trans on the floor in about 75 minutes.

Good luck!

-Chris-

-Sweetness-
-Turbocharged-
Slowly but surely may some day win this race...
Saturday, August 11, 2012 5:13 PM
Thanks Chris,