Installing alternator on 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier help! - Transmission Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Installing alternator on 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier help!
Monday, August 03, 2009 5:07 PM
How hard is it to install an alternator on a 2003 2.2L engine Chevy Cavalier? I remember changing the fan belt, battery, intake, spark plugs on my old 1998 cavalier, but how hard would it be to install an alternator on this 2003 cavalier. Like I said I'm a beginner pretty much but I have done stuff to my last car engine which is similiar. Is there a guide I can follow? If my battery keeps dying and I can barely start my car sometimes after like 4 tries of the key turn, that means I need a new alternator right. Because when I charge the battery from my moms car to mine it works for a little, but then it goes almost dead again. Which do I need a new battery or alternator. I think it's an alternator because this is what happened to my last car. I could always just get both.

Re: Installing alternator on 2003 Chevrolet Cavalier help!
Monday, August 03, 2009 9:49 PM
are you installing this running off your transmission? if thats the case then i suppose it would a difficuly...

other wise check the maintenance section on the forum..

but ill answer your question this time.. but next time post in the right section MODS dont like this sort of thing..

any way.. if you can start your car and unplug your battery and the car says running then your batterys bad.. if you do the same thing and your car dies then your alternators bad..

but if your battery keeps going completley dead then its probabley smart to replace them both..

and when my alternator on my 03 its 3 13mm bolts (2 on top 1 on the bottom) 1 wiring clip and you have to undo the pully.. but you have to take the intake manifold off in order to get the alternator out and the new one in.. the intake manifold is i beleve 7 10mm? bolts and the c clip for the brake boost behind it.