Can I convert manual mirrors to power??? - Interior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Can I convert manual mirrors to power???
Wednesday, March 25, 2009 4:13 AM
I'm a newbie here with a 99'. I would like to convert my mirrors. As far as I know there is no extra plug in the door panel because my windows are also manual. Could I wire the switches for the mirrors to the fuse block or tap into the dash harness somewhere to make the mirrors work?. Thanks in advance!

Re: Can I convert manual mirrors to power???
Wednesday, March 25, 2009 4:19 AM
Sure can. I did the Grand Am a couple of years ago. I just bought a fuse box "tap" and grabbed the +12 volts there. You will need to fab up the wiring and find the mirrors, switches, and bezel.

Labrat
Wednesday, March 25, 2009 7:11 PM
Labrat wrote:Sure can. I did the Grand Am a couple of years ago. I just bought a fuse box "tap" and grabbed the +12 volts there. You will need to fab up the wiring and find the mirrors, switches, and bezel.

Thanks Labrat. Can you elaborate a little for me?. I'd like to go the junkyard this weekend.
Sunday, March 29, 2009 6:36 PM
Well I went to the junk yard today and found a nice driver side power mirror, inside switch panel and plenty of harness for both sides. I know the yellow, green and white control the motor direction and I'm assuming the black is ground and orange is hot. I tried hooking up the wires to my battery to test the mirror but it didn't do anything?

Maybe the mirror I picked is bad or the wires are not hooked up correctly?? Can anybody point me in the direction?. I'm just trying to test the mirror before installing it. Thanks
Thursday, April 02, 2009 4:04 AM
Oh well, it looks like my mirror is bad because the switch is getting 12v like it should. Does it matter if I grab a set of mirrors off a 2 door model or do they have to be off a 4 door model?
Thursday, April 02, 2009 4:23 AM