Rubbing sound and vibration.. - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Rubbing sound and vibration..
Thursday, February 10, 2005 9:18 PM
I have a 2002 Cavalier Z24 with a slight problem. There is a vibration in the front end of the drivers side. It vibrates through the pedals and up to my rear view mirror. It is a vibration not a shake. I am not a mechanic so I don't know any technical names but I was originally told that it was the bearing that has the wheel studs on it. That got replaced and it still does it. Someone else suggested that it was the bearing inside the transmission. Has any one else had this problem? Thanks in advance.

Re: Rubbing sound and vibration..
Friday, February 11, 2005 4:25 AM
Does it happend all the time? only when you turn? only on straight line? only when you brake? give us more info.

As for the tranny bearing

Btw, vibration and shaking is the same thing unless you explain clearly what you feel.

Gilles
2.3 Ho

Friday, February 11, 2005 5:23 AM
Thanks for the info on the tranny bearing. Yeah it used to happen just when I turned right but now even going straight it does it but very low. I can hear it but no actual vibration unless I turn. No vibration when I brake. I have had that outside bearing replaced and new tires put on. It is not shaking as if my tires where out of balance or I needed new rotors. The sound is sooo loud that I have to turn the radio up 3/4 of the way in order to hear it. Maybe the drive shaft on the driver side is rubbing something?
Friday, February 11, 2005 7:08 PM
can be the other side. Sometime a sound may seen to be on one side and it's on the other. It does sound like a wheel bearing.

Gilles
2.3 Ho

Saturday, February 12, 2005 6:33 PM
Question does in do it in park or in neutral?

1979 Impala Sport Coupe Aeroback
Saturday, February 12, 2005 7:24 PM
Probably a wheel bearing, I had to replace mine.. Easy job if you have the right sockets.