Newbie alert - Newbies Forum

Forum Archive
This thread has been archived. Posts that have been archived can not be replied to.
Newbie alert
Friday, February 13, 2004 8:57 AM
Well hello everyone.

To start, im not a newbie to automotive modification, i do it as a profession, and im widely recognized in modding the Kia sephia/spectra engines.

Out of neccesity, i just bought a 2000 pontaic sunfire. I wish to learn why a 2.2L is so underpowered and the best ways to mod it, without the use of turbo's or nitro.

From what i so far have learned, my 2.2L produces 115HP @5k rpm's, however it has a rev limiter that wont let me pass 4k, it'll drop you down to 2800. On a dyno, it registers 96hp.

Now i know from the years working with kia's, that it has alot of potential, However it also may be more cost effective to just swap a 2.4L ecotek in place, which i currently dont have the resources for.

A MSD upgrade can eliminate the rev limiter and place it much higher, but i dont know what the stock 2.2 Sohc can handle. Can i please have some recommendations?

Re: Newbie alert
Saturday, February 14, 2004 4:21 PM
<br>

Z24 burnout ***VIDEO*** http://mrlja.250free.com/Z24burnout.WMV made by me
Saturday, February 14, 2004 4:25 PM
......... <br>

Saturday, February 14, 2004 4:56 PM
works <br>

Sunday, February 15, 2004 4:53 PM
The 2.2 is a pushrod engine. Not, OHC. I wouldn't raise the rev limiter on it without some valvetrain upgrades at least. <br>

<a href="http://www.cardomain.com/id/aasyranth">96 Sunfire GT Turbo</a>
Monday, February 16, 2004 11:42 AM
thanks
<br>

Learn before you burn
Monday, February 16, 2004 11:43 AM
thanks
<br>

Learn before you burn
Monday, February 16, 2004 4:31 PM
If you're mechanically inclined enough that you can nonchalantly "swap a 2.4L ecotek in place" then by all means do it. There're some pretty good ways to get more power out of the 2.2, but it's not going to be a match for a 2.4 ecotec (or are you thinking the 2.2 ecotec?)