Issues starting - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Issues starting
Friday, September 23, 2011 4:14 PM
Hey,

Haven't been on here in a while. Sometime when I go to start the car it won't. The dash lights will light up and I can hear the fuel pump priming. But it won't start. Sometime it starts on the first try, other times I have to jiggle the key from on to start a couple times and then it will actually go. I would think that it is something in the steering column going bad, but im not an expert on anything in there. Any ideas?

Thanks
2001 cavalier 2.2

Re: Issues starting
Friday, September 23, 2011 4:25 PM
Sounds like your ignition switch good sir. If you have to jiggle the key... then that is most likely it. 99.999% sure that is.

Saturday, September 24, 2011 8:15 AM
It ended up being some kind of relay for the starter. Go figure right?

Sunday, September 25, 2011 3:44 AM
Haha, nice. Go figure indeed.

Sunday, September 25, 2011 6:29 PM
Now i've got to get the a/c compressor fixed so that i can have defrost this winter

Sunday, September 25, 2011 7:59 PM
Have fun with that. The V5 compressor is a piece of crap, lol. I am on my 3rd one... ugh.

Monday, September 26, 2011 11:47 AM
Where is the best place to get them, do you know? I'm not trying to spend $600 on a car I might not have for very long.

Sunday, October 09, 2011 5:12 PM
Ebay is a decent place to look. Most sellers will warrant them and give you a good deal. all the compressors are the same for all 1995 cavaliers and 1996-2002 2.2 motors. Basically ALL had the same compressor except the 2.4 and Ecotec 3rd gens.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011 5:48 PM
I'll have to check that out. The current process is getting the abs fixed.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011 9:18 PM
what is wrong with the abs? Wheel sensor?

Monday, October 17, 2011 7:36 AM