Trial by fire hub replacement - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Trial by fire hub replacement
Sunday, April 01, 2012 3:36 PM
So I am supposed to be doing my first brake check and suspension bushing check as a total newbie. I end up shearing off the lugnut bolt and having to buy a new hub. This is my story. I am writing this so you can call me a dumbass and tell me what I need to fix. I jacked up the car and put it on a jackstand on the side I wanted to check first. My friend loosened the lugnuts a bit before we jacked it up. once it was up and supposedly loosened I sheared off the bolt. I didn't know about stud replacements till it was over and I had replaced the hub. We got the caliper off and I put in in a potted plant I had grabbed for this task. After a lot of futzing around with neutral and lifting the other wheel and finally to far loosened hub assembly bolts that were blocking the lug nut bolt ends we finally got the hub loose, after a lot of hammering and hammering we got the hub out. The new temken hub I bought at autozone for 70 bucks. It came with a rubber wire and some jar lid seal thing which I did not end up using. The rubber wire I put around where the inscription line is around the hub shaft. It didn't stay there and is now all splayed out on the outside where it didn't quite fit in. I think I also sprayed anti sieze compound on the brake parts accidentally thinking I had the bottle of brake cleaner, I sprayed them with the real brake cleaner a little, I hope they will be ok? So I kinda blew my food budget on the hub and a 30 mm socket for the hub nut, a t55 extension socket because the original t55 I bought for this wouldn't fit through the hole in the hub and a c-clamp to squeeze in the caliper piston. The car runs fine so far, I tooled around a little and everything seems normal but I know I need to do something with this leftover seal part and the messed up rubber band but what?