Duagther's cav hard starting - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Duagther's cav hard starting
Friday, September 13, 2013 7:24 AM
Hello all,
I'm new to cavaliers and have been trying to figure out her problem of hard starts after the car has sat more than 10 minutes.
Here are the specs on the car, 1999 Cavalier 2.2 OHV engine, automatic transmission, with 124,000 miles.
I have been reading numerous forums trying to find a resolution to her problem.
After sitting more than 10 minutes or so the engine has to crank for 10-20 seconds before starting.
I have tried "priming" the system by cycling the ignition switch several times with no luck.
I used my OBD II code reader and found 2 codes, PO301 number 1 cyl misfire, and PO440- evap problem.
Evap was just a purge solenoid had came unplugged. It has new plugs , fuel filter, number 1 injector, MAP sensor, coolant temp sensor, intake air sensor. The car has plenty of spark, I am stumped on this one! I have seen lots of posts about this type of problem in these cars without any solutions to it.
Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks

Re: Duagther's cav hard starting
Friday, September 13, 2013 8:38 AM
Check your bleed down on the fuel with a fuel pressure gauge..... It could be the fuel leaks down and needs time to prime if this is the case could be a number of possiabilities with the fuel system more then likely comming back to a leaky fpr or a bad fuel pump..... or in my case when something like this happened it was a leaky fuel tank combined with a clogged fuel filter

Erik Packard
Re: Daugther's cav hard starting
Friday, September 13, 2013 8:43 AM
Thanks for the response,
I will check it out and see what is going on with it, I thought if it was a fpr it would have gas on the vacuum side?
Thanks again, Dan
Friday, September 13, 2013 8:50 AM