intro and a question about generations - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
intro and a question about generations
Saturday, August 15, 2015 9:55 PM
greetings J-lovers! so i'm just another noob here... not actually a J-owner yet but possibly going to be one soon. first, a little about myself: i know next to nothing about vehicles and set out to remedy this situation by jumping into the deep end of the pool and buying my dream truck (1986 K5 Blazer) to teach myself the things any self-respecting American man should know and then immediately drowning in said pool... so here i am with a project truck that will be a work in progress for awhile and i find myself in need of transportation. i stumbled upon a good deal on a vintage cavalier (i have a weakness for bowties and model years that begin with an 8) and then found another on craigslist... which leads to my first noob question: what are the fundamental differences/benefits/drawbacks of first and second gen j-cars? the two cavs i found are an 84 type 10 and an 89 z24, both convertibles. both appear to be in well above average condition. obviously the z24 would beat the 84 in a race, but i'm not buying a racecar. i'm looking for something reliable, fun to drive, and cheap enough that a) i can continue to dump $ into my beloved K5 and b) the wife won't look at me like i'm a moron for spending a fortune on an old vehicle. are there any red flags i should look for in either car?

my other car is a truck

Re: intro and a question about generations
Sunday, August 16, 2015 6:17 AM