1/4 mile help - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
1/4 mile help
Saturday, June 10, 2006 2:15 PM
i went to the track friday with my new cam setup, went from JBP stage 2 cams to the secret cams with a 55 shot. i had high hopes for the new setup, and it felt faster in the lower rpm.
i went from 15.990@84.70mph, with a 2.283 60' on the old cams to a 16.336@82.59mph 2.326 60' with the secret cams off the bottle. when i sprayed (first time) at about the 60' mark i got a 15.915@86.99mph 2.382 60'. does anyone have any ideas of what the problem is. my reg is up to date. any help or suggestions very welcome

14.728 @ 92.14 (65 shot)

Re: 1/4 mile help
Saturday, June 10, 2006 5:23 PM
Im no expert ... but dont you have to get your computer reflashed when you get anything major done to your engine? Or, for that fact, it just may need some tuning. It could be an air to fuel ratio that is hurting you.

dan

Monday, June 12, 2006 1:21 AM
i'm going to guess that your 18" rims that weight a decent amount aren't helping you. i don't know what the 18's weigh, but according to the sticky in the wheel section, the 17's weigh in at 24lbs, and i think stock 16's weigh about 20 or so. i would say that is a huge problem. i saw a big decrease in times when i went from my 16's to 17's and the 17's weighed in around 20lbs also.

Goal is to make my N/A Auto faster then a manual without doing engine internals
Monday, June 12, 2006 12:43 PM
Yeah, big heavy wheels are murder on the drag strip. I blame mine for keeping me in the 15's with probably over 200 hp.

Monday, June 12, 2006 1:55 PM
Motegi trak lites 4TW

N2O + Bolt-ons = 220Hp/250Tq

Coming Soon:HpTunersPro, EagleConnectingRods, WiescoPistons, 13sec2200

Monday, June 12, 2006 8:37 PM