Question about rev limiter - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Question about rev limiter
Sunday, March 09, 2008 6:45 AM
I race a 95 sunfire with a 2.2L 3 sp. Auto tranny at a local asphalt track. The track is only a 1/4 mile and I run it in 1st gear because 2nd is too sluggish . My problem is going into the turns off the straight's I'm hitting the rev limiter about 50 feet before the turn and losing alot of speed. Is there anyway to help that? Right now I'm running 175/60/14 street tires which we have to run a street tire of some sort. I thought bigger tires may help, just wondering of some other ideas because I'm still new to all this and don't know a whole lot. Thanks

Ryan

Re: Question about rev limiter
Sunday, March 09, 2008 6:57 PM
hpt

and i cant believe you claim 2nd gear sluggish

edit: no hpt for you mr obd1, chip da bitch

Edited 1 time(s). Last edited Sunday, March 09, 2008 6:58 PM

My car may run 18s, but I can do your taxes in 10 seconds flat.
JBO lube - they would never have enough in stock and we'd never see RodimusPrime again
Monday, March 10, 2008 9:48 AM
Ryan Stautzenbach wrote:I race a 95 sunfire with a 2.2L 3 sp. Auto tranny at a local asphalt track. The track is only a 1/4 mile and I run it in 1st gear because 2nd is too sluggish . My problem is going into the turns off the straight's I'm hitting the rev limiter about 50 feet before the turn and losing alot of speed. Is there anyway to help that? Right now I'm running 175/60/14 street tires which we have to run a street tire of some sort. I thought bigger tires may help, just wondering of some other ideas because I'm still new to all this and don't know a whole lot. Thanks

Ryan

A custom chip can be burned. There are a few 95 owners around here that can do it.