best power upgrade?? - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
best power upgrade??
Thursday, January 08, 2009 7:40 PM
Hey everyone, great site! I just bought a '95 z24 2.3 5 speed. We have 100 lap dirt track races around here and thought the car would be perfect. (4 and 6 cyl. class).... We are not allowed to do anything to the motor as far as performance, at least what the eye can see lol. What i am asking is what would be my best mods to gain HP? It already has a chip in it, and there will be no real exhaust. I was wondering if i take off the head and port it or de-burr it if it would help. Does anyone have any sugestions? Any other tips, or cheap tricks? Im new to the 4 banger world and would love some help.

Re: best power upgrade??
Thursday, January 08, 2009 9:02 PM
Your best bet would be to find an older 2.3 HO engine and drop it in the car. Around MD where I live you can get a motor from the pick n pull for $150. the HO makes 30 more HP and its a stock motor. Idk anything about racing rules but that could be a good start. You could take the HO 086 head, cams, and manifolds and put them on your 2.3 if you didnt want to swap motors. They are still "stock" just not stock to your car. However the 94 and earlier 2.3s had better oiling systems and no ballance shafts(power robbers). The HO also has 10-1 compression and the others all have 9.5-1. I hope this helps some.

Thursday, January 08, 2009 9:24 PM
I thought anything older than 95 in the cav's were 3.1 cars? Did these motors come in cars other than the Z's? and how do i determine its an HO motor? Good advise and thank you!
Thursday, January 08, 2009 10:32 PM
brent truitt wrote:and how do i determine its an HO motor? Good advise and thank you!

on top of the engine there is an ID cover. it will say 2.3 HIgh Out something like that anyway.

Im a Xbox 360 fanboy...and damn proud of it!!
Thursday, January 08, 2009 10:59 PM