Couple of questions about running at track - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Couple of questions about running at track
Monday, July 06, 2009 3:50 PM
My friends and I plan to go race at Ubly Dragway this coming saturday.
First of all, Being I am boosted and have a FMIC would it be smarter to run with the front bumper off to get more airflow to the front and contributing to a cooler charge pipe?
Secondly, should I ice the turbo after each run to help cool it down?

This is my first time to the track. ANY pointers would be great and I will appreciate any advice.
I plan to run my 16" wheels on the front with good tire and my 17" motegis on the rear and air those up to reduce drag

Re: Couple of questions about running at track
Monday, July 06, 2009 4:41 PM
Didn't know you could ice down a turbo

Monday, July 06, 2009 4:47 PM
What I am meaning was ice the intercooler piping near the TB

Monday, July 06, 2009 4:56 PM
Quote:

First of all, Being I am boosted and have a FMIC would it be smarter to run with the front bumper off to get more airflow to the front and contributing to a cooler charge pipe?

i see people do that all the time. give it a try

Quote:

Secondly, should I ice the turbo after each run to help cool it down?

you can, but it will probaly heat up by the time you get to the line anyway.

Im a Xbox 360 fanboy...and damn proud of it!!
Monday, July 06, 2009 5:07 PM
alright, i will probably run with the bumper off as long as it isn't too much to take off when I get there.

Monday, July 06, 2009 5:38 PM
Its not worth the hassle. If you have a front mount intercooler on your car already that is plenty for a low boost saab setup. 6-8 psi on this turbo does not create that much heet.

Monday, July 06, 2009 6:38 PM
Any tips on weight reduction then?
other than what I already know: rear seat is coming out, tire and jack and rear carpeting, possibly door panels too. Passenger seat also