looking for a road racing venue - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
looking for a road racing venue
Tuesday, December 27, 2005 12:30 PM
I was wondering if there are any road racing events where Cavaliers are classed with similar cars? I've been looking for a grass roots type of venue so that I can start racing again, without spending my entire life savings and selling my house. I know there are events for Miatas, and there's the Honda Challenge, there was ACR for Neons, that sort of thing. Anything out there for our cars? I love performance, but fact is, I'm not a mechanic. I'm a driver. My friends want a way to turn wrenches and make something to race, and I want a way to go racing and not get arrested. Any ideas?

Re: looking for a road racing venue
Tuesday, December 27, 2005 3:57 PM
Your not going to find a good venue for a cavalier. Spec Miata is where its at. Besides, if you race your cavalier your going to brake a lot of parts, which would require some significant wrench turning.

Tuesday, December 27, 2005 4:08 PM
Yeah, there's a place in Des Moines that builds Miatas, races them in spec events, then sells them after so long, and you can buy one for pretty cheap considering the work done to them, but I'm 6'3" and me in a Miata is like monkey humpin' a football. Plus those cars are rode hard and hung up wet. Not sure I'd want to go that route. I did some searching and there was a site I found where some people were trying to get a grass roots series for Cavaliers, Neons, Civics, and the like, but it was an old thread and I don't think it ever got off the ground. I'd love to go back into racing with my 180 Sylvia, but it's getting expensive to maintain. SR20s aint cheap to fix these days.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 5:07 AM
If you are still hell bent on professionaly road racing your cavalier:
SCCA Club Racing