Thinking about starting to autocross - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Thinking about starting to autocross
Friday, August 03, 2012 9:08 AM
When I built my current cav, the main purpose was for a good street car that preformed good in the 1/4 mile. Its auto and runs 12.6s in the 1/4 currently. I know the tranny can't take shifting with the full power much longer, and drag racing is starting to get boring (plus I have a new car for that) So I've been thinking I want to start autocrossing. I've never done it before but have a few friends who would give me pointers. With that said, there are some things on the cav that need addressed before I would want to start. I know I prob want a smaller turbo than whats on there now, but I was thinking I would try the current one first. Interior wise, I already have racing seats, harnesses, a smaller steering wheel, and helmet, so I believe I should be good there. Tires and brakes are good too (although I should do rear disc conversion) I believe the main thing that needs addressed before I start is the suspension. Its basically on stock replacement struts with ebach sportline springs. Fine for the street, but I image way too soft for autocrossing. What would be a good set of struts for this and are there any other things that come to mind that should be addressed before I start? I mainly just want have a decent setup to start with and if I like it a lot, then get a bit more crazy with everything and upgrade all areas needed at that time.

12.6 @ 114.6 MPH

Re: Thinking about starting to autocross
Saturday, August 04, 2012 11:09 AM
--Boosted Z-- wrote:Its basically on stock replacement struts with ebach sportline springs. Fine for the street.

I'll have to disagree. It is never ok to lower on stock struts. /Mini rant over.