2.4 racer - Racing Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
2.4 racer
Friday, May 10, 2013 8:03 PM
Hey everyone. I'm new to racing 4cylinders but my first car is a 99 Z24 with the 2.4l. I haven't heard
Anything too good about this motor and was wondering why? Should I be racing the 2.2 instead?

Any advice for a half mile paved oval or setup tips would be appreciated.

Thanks

Re: 2.4 racer
Saturday, May 11, 2013 10:21 AM
I am personally a 2.4 fan. You'll have trouble ever matching the power with a 2.2 (unless its the eco). Some people do no tlike them because the old 2.3 engines had head cracking issues, not a 2.4 issue, but it still caries the reputation. Also the 2.4 oiling system is not the best at high RPMs, so always make sure your oil is topped off. I had one in a vert that lasted to roughly 215k before the head gasket went, I could probably repair and keep rolling for a while. My 01 Z has one with 74k and is still rolling strong.

Sunday, May 12, 2013 4:15 PM