Well not really jacked/wrecked/stolen but where else to put it? - Jacked / Wrecked / Sold Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Well not really jacked/wrecked/stolen but where else to put it?
Monday, May 25, 2009 5:32 PM
So a little over a week ago, I come out to my car after work (I work as a chef in a fine dining restaurant...long days, late nights). Go to put the key in the lock and realize something's not right. The lock is pushed in. Then I notice the hole under the lock, where it seems someone wedged something in under the lock and pried. At this point I know what happened, I'm just afraid to really look inside and see what all they got. I open the door, expecting to see a total mess...

...and at first, notice nothing out of place. Glove compartment closed, center console closed (between the two, probably 15 CDs/cases total, not a good idea, I know). I look, expecting to see the mess of wires and hole in the middle of the dash from someone having ripped the stereo out. All the asshat took was the faceplate off my Pioneer CD headunit. Well, all in all, I'm relieved they didn't totally tear the dash apart or steal the whole deck. Then again, those faceplates can be expensive (relatively speaking) to replace. I ended up finding one for $40 shipped on eBay (no, it wasn't the one stolen out of my car). I figure the person(s) who broke in probably were planning to steal the whole radio, but either got scared off (the restaurant is in a small shopping plaza and there's a bar a couple storefronts down from our restaurant, it was like 12:30 or so when I left), or they realized it was going to be harded than they thought. Still, why the hell didn't they just leave the damn faceplate in the car?