new car - Other Cars Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
new car
Thursday, April 21, 2011 4:36 PM
well sadly im about 90% sure my cavys toatled. sooo that means ill be looking for a new car my budgets around 5000 and i want someting reliable as im a college student and it will be my daily driver just wanted some opinions on what you guys think will be a good buy thanks

Re: new car
Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:24 PM
Cobalt, cavalier, civic, sunfire, Jetta, the list could go on.

Thursday, April 21, 2011 10:41 PM
Really depends on what you want in a car. My short list if it were my money would be:

Older Integra (DC5? The one with the two little round head lights)
8th gen Corolla (98-02)
Mk IV Golf/Jetta
7th Gen Civic

Realistically, those would all be semi-common cars around or under your price range (Okay, Integras aren't THAT common, but a lot of times they go in that price range, and if you can get one, its a decent car). They all have great fuel economy, are reliable, have aftermarket support and common bolt patterns (aftermarket support is nice not only for modding your car, but generally, cars with a decent aftermarket tend to have a lot of available replacement parts as well. Same with bolt patterns. Its easy to replace a bent/damaged wheel if there are a lot of cars with that bolt pattern). This is assuming you don't want another Cavalier/Sunfire.

2010 Honda Fit LX
Friday, April 22, 2011 7:07 AM
i was thinking about the golf/jetta ill know for sure sometime to day if my car is really totaled or not.
Friday, April 22, 2011 7:47 AM
You won't get a new car for 5 grand.

Stay away from the VDubs..unless you are electronically/electronically inclined because they are pretty big pains in the arse. Trust me.

My suggestion? I'd suggest you a Civic or Integra.
Friday, April 22, 2011 8:05 AM