Noob here - Tuning Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Noob here
Friday, June 10, 2011 12:12 AM
Ok, i sort of understand what a tune is but im having slight trouble understanding why exactly do you need one for simple things...please correct me if im wrong about any of this but i read somewhere you'd need a tune for bigger intake manifold and bigger TB, i dont understand why. Wouldn't the sensors take care of adjusting the a/f ratios? i mean we do not have MAFs so i dont see how it would tell there is more air coming in, but it would run lean, the 02 sensor would read its running lean and wouldnt the computer add more fuel to correct that? and wouldnt it be good from there? i mean it wouldnt be perfect but wouldnt it be good enough? same with adding a cam, i understand cams affect rpms and might not run right at low rpms and sound like an old muscle car.

As i was typing this i think im right to an extent, i am guessing the 02 sensors will correct it only so much until it throws a CEL and goes back to stock settings, am i right?

Also as for boosting a car like ours, first off i am not going to do this...but say low boost like 3psi that the injectors/ignition can handle, the only problem without tune would be MAP reading positive pressure? and sensors would take care or everything else if the map wasnt a problem?

huge noob here, please no hate, im really trying to learn...because i was talking to my dad today and he had no idea what a tune was although he's an old school muscle car guy, and there are bunch of turbo civics around here running fine without a tune, im sure they arent getting the most power out if it, but they are running fine...i also see on youtube some turbo cavaliers without tunes, can someone explain how that is possible?
my friend did ebay turbo on his accord and once it hits 1psi, it hits fuel cut...why does that happen to him when others are running fine without tune