Tuning for W41 Cams in an LD9 - Tuning Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Tuning for W41 Cams in an LD9
Friday, August 05, 2011 7:47 PM
I just got my new engine running tonight, and I've got a few questions. Gary sent me his tune so that I could copy it, I figured it would be a decent point to start from. I had the bump the idle up a bit but it idles pretty well at 1050rpm.

The problem I'm having is it's leaning out to high 15's and low 16's AFR's if I try to hit the throttle to quick. He had slightly smaller injectors, so I used my own injector constant and I figured that would work alright. But obviously it hasn't.

So my question is should I make adjustments to the injector constant to richen it up? I'm not really sure where to start.

I attached my tune and a log of my drive. I don't have the Wideband logging yet. I'm quite new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments
W41 - First Drive.zip (396k)

Paying someone to install parts and bragging about it being fast, is like watching someone bang your wife and being proud to raise their kids.

Re: Tuning for W41 Cams in an LD9
Friday, August 05, 2011 8:08 PM
This has been said recently in other post, but injector constant is not a magic number that makes the rest of the tune right. You do the injector constant and then tune the VE. Just tune it.

FU Tuning

Friday, August 05, 2011 8:19 PM
Ok so I want to get this completely straight because its never actually said in the other posts. Adjust the injector constant then tweak it until the car is idling at the afr you want it to and then tune VE tables? correct?

Friday, August 05, 2011 8:25 PM
Zs Z wrote:Ok so I want to get this completely straight because its never actually said in the other posts. Adjust the injector constant then tweak it until the car is idling at the afr you want it to and then tune VE tables? correct?